The Xavier Musketeers men’s basketball Group represents Xavier University in Cincinnati, Ohio.

The faculty’s team currently competes in the Big East Conference. Of all Division I programs however to create a Final 4, Xavier gets the most all-time championship wins with 27. Xavier has appeared in the NCAA Tournament 27 times, 15 times in the previous 17 decades. On March 11, 2018, Xavier earned its first No. 1 seed for the NCAA Tournament.
Xavier won four Atlantic 10 Tournament Championships (1998, 2002, 2004 and 2006). Xavier has won or shared 17 regular season conference championships, while winning 9 conference tournament championships. Additionally, they have won one Big East Conference regular season title in 2018.
Xavier has been recorded one of the top-20 most valuable college basketball programs in america.
The very first Xavier Basketball match on record was February 20, 1920 at the Fenwick Club in Cincinnati. Coached by Joe Meyer, the Musketeers compiled a 94–52 record during Meyer’s’s 13-year conduct as head coach in 1920 to 1933. The Musketeer’s success lasted under second head coach Clem Crowe. Throughout Crowe’s 10 years as Xavier head coach, Xavier compiled a record of 96–78. Crowe’s 96 wins as a head trainer rank fourth all-time among Xavier head coaches. [5]
Following the 1942–43 season, play has been suspended for the following two seasons due to World War II. In 1945, the program declared under the leadership of head coach Ed Burns. In his one season as head coach, Burns compiled a list of 3–16.
Back in 1946, Burns was replaced by Lew Hirt. Under Hirt, the Musketeers first postseason appearance was in the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) during the 1948 NAIA National Basketball Tournament, the national tournament for small colleges. Xavier ended in 4th place, dropping to Hamline University in the nationwide third-place game, 58–59. 1948 was the only season Xavier appeared in the NAIA Tournament.
In 1951, Hirt was replaced as head coach from Ned Wulk. Wulk directed the Musketeers into National Invitational Tournament appearances in 1956 and 1957. The 1956 appearance marked Xavier’s initial NIT win, an 84–80 victory over Saint Louis.
After a loss to Bradley in the 1957 NIT, Wulk was replaced as head trainer by Jim McCafferty. McCafferty headed the Musketeers back into some third straight NIT at 1958. With wins over Niagara, Bradley, St. Bonaventure and Dayton, Xavier seized the NIT. That was the very first postseason championship obtained by almost any Ohio Division I college.
Back in 1961, McCafferty led Xavier for their first appearance in the NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball Tournament. On March 14, 1961, Xavier dropped to Morehead State at the Kentucky State Fairgrounds in Louisville, Kentucky.
McCafferty was replaced as head coach in 1963. He would be followed by Don Ruberg (1963–67), George Krajack (1967–71), Dick Campbell (1971–73) and Tay Baker (1973–79).
Back in 1979, Xavier was one of the charter members of this Midwestern City Conference (known as the MCC or Midwestern City 6, also currently known as the Horizon League), which also comprised Butler, Evansville, Loyola (Chicago), Oklahoma City, and Oral Roberts. That season also marked the hiring of head coach Bob Staak, that compiled an 88–86 record during his six seasons as head coach, including a return to both the NCAA Tournament and NIT.

Read more: